• Advertisement

Apartment Prepping

CanCricket
Canada

Apartment Prepping

Postby CanCricket » Tue May 24, 2016 11:17 pm

Hello all.

I'm brand new to prepping and looking for some advice. I'm in BC, in a largish urban area, where space is at a premium and I don't have much! Anyone here prepping in an apartment? I'm looking to get about a year's worth of food and water together, along with other sundry items needed to survive, but I think I'll be lucky to get 6 month's worth together due to a lack of space. Any advice? I can't magic space out of thin air, unfortunately, and I've been advised that all supplies should be within my apartment, i.e. no use of storage locker, which is 4 floors below me.

Thanks!
0 x

averna

Re: Apartment Prepping

Postby averna » Thu May 26, 2016 6:12 am

Just did a web search on "prepping" in an apartment and a lot of good stuff came up. Now I'm excited to go read. A friend of mine tells me to hide/store things in plain site. I think investing in storage furniture could be a good idea. I also found an interesting meetup group for alternative living - a couple people built their own secret vacation cabin somewhere on vancouver island. Not that I advocate that kind of under-the-radar approach but one of the things I'm working on is figuring out a bugout plan and something like that could be helpful.
0 x

helicopilot
Topic Leader
Canada

Postby helicopilot » Fri May 27, 2016 3:40 am

Hi CanCricket!

Welcome to IPN!! Just curious as to the reasons why you were advised of not using storage lockers. Could you explain? At first glance, that seems to be a missed opportunity, especially if you already pay for that storage.
0 x

CanCricket
Canada

Postby CanCricket » Fri May 27, 2016 4:39 am