• Advertisement

Question: what am I? Prepper or wannabe?

Post general New Zealand discussions here.
MrHappyNZ

Question: what am I? Prepper or wannabe?

Postby MrHappyNZ » Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:07 am

Us pepper’s (and yes I do consider myself one) are an interesting bunch. I had a sleepless night last night (for no reason that I can tell) and it got me thinking ...

First some background - I have been prepping for ~1 year now and since then have establish a reserve that would feed my family of four for approximately 30 days. We have some back up gear as well, but intend for the most part to bug-in (I do have other options if the SHTF in a major way).
Where I live is in a semi-rural town 15mins from a city, I was in the territorials (like reserves) about 20yrs ago and am aware that I have forgotten more than I remember (although I have plenty of 'theoretical' knowledge my actual skills are very rusty). I don't live on a farm or even own my property, even so I'm considering putting down a bore for our own water supply (if I can do it cheap enough of course).
Realistically we are prepping for earthquakes/extreme weather events, but for the big ones I'm concerned about CME's and pandemics.

Now on some boards/forums there seems to be an almost elitist view as to just what constitutes being a prepper. Sometimes it seems that if you don't have a buried bunker or 1-2-3yrs food supplies you're just a 'wannabe', if you're not training every other hour/day then you’re just playing.
I acknowledge we are a diverse bunch though aren't we, some prep for 'natural events' others the SHTF end of the world. We have a common name "prepper" and in many ways common goals, the SHTF guy will certainly be prepared for any lesser event but also the natural events guy will at least be ahead of the curve compared to others.