• Advertisement

Are CB's hard to install?

(Radio's), (GPS), (Faraday Cages), (Other Technology)
thecrownsown
Topic Leader
Posts: 658
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 10:27 pm
Location: SW Ontario, ON
x 188
x 29
Canada

Are CB's hard to install?

Postby thecrownsown » Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:19 pm

I ended up in possession of a CB Radio. Cobra III. I have no idea what to do with it or how to hook it upto my car or home. But hey...it cost me $3.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on this? Is it simple enough to hook up to a car myself? Can I run it at home on a battery? Are there any links here on IPN or any good videos that someone could recommend on how to get this thing running.

Thanks, TCO
0 x
Are you on Blackberry Messenger Channels?

Check out: Emergency Preparedness C00219488

Wayne
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Cow Bay, Nova Scotia
x 38
x 54
Canada

Re: Are CB's hard to install?

Postby Wayne » Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:03 am

Hi TCO,

Installation of a CB radio isn't difficult. You can run the power wire to the fuse panel and clip the wire behind one of the fuses. You have a coaxial input on the back (screw in connection) which is the plug from the antenna. Make sure your antenna and radio are mounted to a fixed point and grounded. Turn it on and your all set. Don't forget to get a handle (I think Rubber Duck is taken). :-)
1 x

User avatar
Denob
Site Admin
Posts: 2615
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:35 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
x 13
x 42
Contact:
Canada

Re: Are CB's hard to install?

Postby Denob » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:11 pm

There are really only 3 things you need...
1 - a place to mount the cb
2 - power source
3 - antenna

1 mounting the cb
Hopefully your radio came complete with a mounting bracket. Find a place where it will be out of the way yet convenient to reach without taking your eyes off the road. I like using self tapping machine screws as they dig right in and stay secure. Don't use anything too long as you don't want the screw digging into wiring etc. behind the dash or panels.
2 power source
I connect mine directly to the battery. Red to + black to -.Drawing power from the fuse box means you could end up drawing power from the alternator, which can cause electrical noise on the radio. Going directly to the battery means you can operate the cb even when the vehicle is off.
3 antenna
I like mag mounts the best as I change vehicles every few years. Also, you can just take it off when going through a carwash or when a mechanic needs to lift the vehicle in a garage.

You shouldn't have to drill any holes for routing power or antenna cable...look around a bit and you're sure to find a route to where you want to go somewhere.
1 x

thecrownsown
Topic Leader
Posts: 658
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 10:27 pm
Location: SW Ontario, ON
x 188
x 29
Canada

Re: Are CB's hard to install?

Postby thecrownsown » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:42 pm

Gentlemen,

I appreciate the input! thanks.
0 x
Are you on Blackberry Messenger Channels?

Check out: Emergency Preparedness C00219488

scrounger
Posts: 362
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:53 am
x 5
x 30
Canada

Re: Are CB's hard to install?

Postby scrounger » Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:27 pm

I just picked up an older Uniden that was heading for ewaste. Appears previous owner used it as a portable rig. It has a redneck wooden frame around it that allows it to stand upright on floor between seats. Wired with a cigarette lighter style plug. Looking online there appears to be ways to increase power output to more than 18 watts. Sure most units can be similarly modded. Which is most likely illegal.
1 x


Return to “Communication & Tech”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest