• Advertisement

Motomaster eliminator question

Discussions of Alternative and Renewable Energy
oldschool
Canada

Motomaster eliminator question

Postby oldschool » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:58 am

I have a motomaster eliminator power box with a power pack inverter 1200w with 60 ah battery. There are so many warning in the owners guide that it's making me a little nervous. I was hoping to charge it and take it to my mom's in case of a power outage. Her portable oxygen tanks only last a total of 6 hours.

I don't know how to calculate how long the "plug in" oxygen machine would run with the battery or if it is even safe to do so.

Any comments, thoughts or advice would be appreciated
0 x

Perfesser
Canada

Re: Motomaster eliminator question

Postby Perfesser » Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:39 am

Just look at the oxy machine. Someplace it will say what it's power draw is. If it's less than 1200w then you can plug it in, might be in amps also. Power (watts) is amps x volts. It will only run 1200w safely for about 15 min though.

Your battery is 60ah (amp/hours at 12v I think) so 10 amps for 6 hours, 5 amps for 12 hrs but a battery can't be fully discharged. Figure on 50% or you'll kill the battery.
Post the power draw for the oxy machine and I'm sure I can get you an answer. Might be on the machine itself or possibly the wall wart plug(if it has one).
If it's 240w = 12v x 20a = 3 hrs and 50% of that = 1.5 hrs

For a 12 - Volt inverter system, each 100 Watts of the inverter load requires approximately 10 DC Amps from the battery.
0 x

Gravlore

Postby Gravlore » Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:31 am

Our inverters beep when the batteries have 55% left in them. LOVE that feature.
0 x

oldschool
Canada

Postby oldschool » Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:45 am

Thank you. I guess that means I will be taking her to the hospital if the power goes out. The battery wouldn't run long enough.
0 x

blueflash

Postby blueflash » Sat Mar 30, 2013 6:24 pm